I never planned it this way. I am moving on to yet another school. Let’s review the record.

The Harvard School, Wharton Arts Magnet MS, Hume-Fogg HS, the American School in London, Baltimore City College High School, Harding High School, the Blake School, Shaker Heights HS, JFK-Eagle Academy and now, Campus International.

Ten. And I had to read the list a few times to make sure I didn’t miss anything.

This was a hard decision. I helped start this school three years ago. I really wanted to see this first group graduate. But our leadership changed and the school changed, and people began looking for exits, and I really didn’t want to be here to re-start the school, not without my allies. I haven’t told the students yet; that will be hard. They will feel betrayed, I think. They’ve had so many people leave them; it is hard to re-build relationships, but this isn’t the school I signed up for.

I am very excited about Campus International. The K-8 program has a fantastic reputation as does its leader. We will be building the high school year-by-year, a process I do relish. I will be back in the International Baccalaureate program for the third time (Baltimore City College, Harding) which I love. It is connected to and has support from Cleveland State. And there is, I’m told, great support from the parents as well. My new Principal is inspiring. I liked his questions and comments. And he likes poetry.

I think the 10th time will be the charm.

