Have you ever been to a useful  staff meeting? If so, please tell me about it. We have a contractual obligation to have 200 minutes outside the school day and we probably spend 400 minutes talking about those 200 minutes. And right now, the main goal of those 200 minutes seems to be to fill those 200 minutes. No is responsible for anything. No action is taken. It just goes on. . .

For example, and you know this if you’ve been following, we had a student die recently and the funeral was today. Instead of using our before school meeting to talk about how to support the students and each other, how to make the day work so some people could go to the funeral and others could cover, we talked first about standardized testing prep that no evidence shows is actually going to help. Then we got an insulting quiz from a special ed person that I chose not to complete.

We reached a “tentative agreement” during negotiations, so the initial strike date has passed. Now I am hearing grumblings that the Union is pushing the notion of rejecting the tentative agreement. Wonderful.

I got contacted by the probation officer of one of my advisees recently. After being on the run for a while, he was found and is being held on multiple felonies. I spent a great deal of time and energy trying to help him navigate his way through and out of the judicial system with some success. Then it all came undone. Now I know love is supposed to be unconditional, but I don’t think I can go back into that again. I have limited time and energy. And I know it seems petty, but neither the student nor his mother were particularly appreciative.

On the other hand, 2 good discussions about Between the World and Me and lots of fun projects going – writing opportunities.

More kids are reading. At least they say they are reading. But when it comes to comprehension checks, they say they can’t remember what they read. Suggested strategies?

