Singleton and Linton’s prompt is . . .

Think of an experience when your racial consciousness was developed. Name and reflect on the discovery. . .

I heard Michelle Alexander speak at a conference in Minneapolis.She spoke without notes because the airline had mishandled her luggage. She was amazing. Magnificent. Eloquent. Persuasive. Inspiring. The air in the room was charged with electricity.

But I was still arrogant. I walked out of her talk, saw her book, and thought, “No, I knew all that.”

But at some point later – maybe from Revolution Books – I bought it. And then I read it. And then everything changed. It was a visceral experience – one I think I’d been prepared for and open to because of some prior reading, training and experiences – it was the proverbial puzzle pieces falling into place. In essence, it was —

–> here’s what’s happening

–> here’s why it’s happening

–> here’s how one step leads to the next

–> and here’s proof it’s being done on purpose

It was stunning. I tried to hold back the thought that as a teacher, I’d been an active and/ or passive part of what Alexander describes. But I couldn’t.

It was, I knew, time to change.

I am still not sure that I am going about the process of identifying what I don’t know and trying to remedy those deficiencies in any organized fashion. One book or article leads to the next. There is so much to do and so much connects with so much else. But I carry on.

It can be exhausting, overwhelming. And it never feels like enough. I could use a guide. I keep track of reading lists. There’s even a program at a local university –  Case Western Reserve Social Justice Institute. Time to go back to school?

I read on. . .

Suggestions are welcome.

